Eleven FIM Speedway Grand Prix stars will face off in the International Individual Ekstraliga Championship in Torun on April 2.

The IMME meeting is Poland’s equivalent of the old Elite League Riders Championship in the UK, with the title named in honour of Polish legend Zenon Plech.

It will be one of the ultimate tests of the Speedway GP stars ahead of the World Championship-opening FIM Speedway GP of Croatia – Gorican on April 30.

The field includes former world champions Bartosz Zmarzlik, Tai Woffinden, Jason Doyle and Nicki Pedersen – four riders with nine Speedway GP gold medals between them.

They are joined by Speedway GP regulars Maciej Janowski, Leon Madsen, Martin Vaculik, Robert Lambert, Patryk Dudek, Jack Holder, Pawel Przedpelski and Mikkel Michelsen.

World Under-21 champion Jakub Miskowiak also comes to the tapes in Torun, plus former FIM Czech Speedway GP winner Janusz Kolodziej and Wiktor Lampart, with one wild card yet to be revealed.

Danish champion Anders Thomsen is on standby to join the field if any riders withdraw, along with former Polish champion Szymon Wozniak and last year’s FIM Lublin Speedway GP sensation Dominik Kubera. Torun young guns Krzysztof Lewandowski and Karol Zupinski have been named as track reserves.

Recommended news